Pastor Joe C. Johnson’s EMBC Legacy

Rev. Joe Cephus Johnson was called to Pastor the Greater Ebenezer Missionary Baptist Church (EMBC) on March 31, 1977. He was installed as the 14th Pastor of EMBC on May 29, 1977.

1979 – Old church building on 9th Street was demolished
1980 – The Royal Ambassadors young men’s ministry was re-established by Ben Brown
1980 – Male Chorus was reorganized
1981 – First Pioneer Day Celebration
1984 – New addition to the Church was completed
1984 – First church picnic was held at Greynolds Park in North Miami, FL
1985 – First “Family Day” celebration
1985 – First church directory published
1987 – The first 7:45am service was held
1989 – Property on 9th street and 1st avenue was purchased
1989 – The Singles Ministry was organized
1989 – The Marriage Ministry was organized
1990 – Adjoining property was purchased
June 6, 1993 – The mortgage burning ceremony was held
1994 – First Substance Abuse Ministry organized
1996 – First Men’s Ministry organized
1996 – First Women’s Ministry organized
1997 – The original Church Bell from (1915) was placed on the Church grounds
1998 – First “All Choirs” Reunion
January 29, 1998 – A memorial service was held for the late Reverend O.W. Foster preceding Pastor of EMBC.
2004 – The Golden Voices choir was organized

Other ministries organized under Pastor Johnson’s leadership

Caring and Sharing Feeding Ministry
Liturgical Dance Ministries
Hospitality Ministry
New Member Orientation Re-organized

Preached initial sermon and was licensed and/or ordained under Pastor Johnson’s Leadership

1978 – Victor T. Curry (Ordained) & Johnnie Bell – (Ordained)
1980 – Thomas Harmon (Licensed)
1981 – Ben Brown (Ordained)
1982 – Jacob McCrea (Ordained)
1985 – Alfred Jones (Ordained); Parker Williams (Ordained); James Booker (Licensed)
1986 – Ira Lewis (Licensed)
1987 – Reginald Gilbert (Ordained)
1990 – Jackie Lane (Licensed)
1991 – Michael Anderson (Ordained)
1993 – Anthony “Tony” Robinson (Ordained)
1998 – Anthony Sanders (Ordained); Timothy Burton (Ordained); Claudius Cooper (Ordained)
1999 – Willie Davis (Ordained); Corey Williams (Ordained); Wayne Allen (Ordained); Louis Allen (Ordained)

20– – Rob Rollins (Ordained)

2016 – Debra Burton (Ordained); Diane Jacobs (Ordained); Imogene Brown (Ordained); Jamelle Ross (Ordained); Lottie Harris (Ordained); Nellie Bacon (Ordained); Roenilla Sermons (Ordained)

EMBC’s First Female Reverend

2001 – Katrice Johnson (Ordained)


Bishop Victor T. Curry – New Birth Baptist Church, Miami, FL
Rev. Jacob McCrea (Deceased) – Central Baptist Church, West Park, FL
Rev. Reginald Gilbert (Deceased) – Believers of Christ Ministries, Hallandale Beach, FL
Rev. Anthony “Tony” Robinson (Deceased) – Central Baptist Church, West Park, FL
Rev. Anthony Sanders – Higher Vision Ministries, Hallandale Beach, FL
Rev. Michael K. Anderson – New Jerusalem Baptist Church, Hollywood, FL
Rev. Corey Williams – Believers of Christ Ministries, Hollywood, FL

Current Senior Pastor/Teacher, successor to Pastor Joe C. Johnson

2018 – Rev. Wayne Allen, Sr. – Greater Ebenezer Missionary Baptist Church – Hallandale Beach, FL